The information provided below is provided by Unum.
Connecticut recently passed a law that applies to most employers operating in Connecticut. The law requires these employers to obtain the CT PFML coverage for their Connecticut workers. This reminder applies to employers that have employees in Connecticut.
All employers with at least one Connecticut employee must provide CT PFML coverage. There are a few exceptions:
- Nonpublic elementary or secondary schools
- The federal government
- The state government
- Municipalities, local/regional boards of education
Sole proprietors and the self-employed working in Connecticut can voluntarily enroll in the program.
State, municipal, and/or local/regional boards of education may be included depending on specific collective bargaining agreement rules.
State plan or state-approved private plan. Private plans must be approved by a majority of CT employees.
0.5% of employee wages up to the annual Social Security maximum wage. Funded by employees. Employer may elect to pay all or part of the employee contribution. For state-approved private plans, the employer must fund the additional cost if the private plan is greater than the state cost.
Earned at least $2,325 during the highest earning quarter within the base period (first four of the five most recently completed quarters) and is either presently employed by an employer or has been employed by an employer in the previous 12 weeks.
Family, bonding, medical, military exigency, and family violence.
Connecticut PFML does not provide job protection. CT FMLA is a separate law that does provide job protection.
Other protections and provisions
No waiting period.
- Employees receive up to 95% of their average weekly wage on a sliding scale. The maximum weekly benefit is 60 times the current state minimum wage ($780 on 1/1/22, $840 on 7/1/22, $900 on 6/1/2023).
- Maximum of 12 weeks in a 12-month period and an additional 2 weeks if incapacitated by pregnancy.
- Family violence maximum is 12 days.
Timeline and key dates
- 2019 – The State of CT passed legislation allowing employees to receive paid leave for certain qualifying reasons.
- January 1, 2021 employee deductions for CT PFML program began.
- January 1, 2022 benefits will become available to employees.
Need more information?
Visit Connecticut’s website for additional details. Learn more